List of All Hat-Trick Wickets Taken in IPL Till Now !!

Hat-trick Wickets in IPL
Hat-trick Wickets in IPL

Hat-Trick Wickets in IPL: Hat tricks are very tough because it’s not easy to take three wickets in a row, and it’s very unusual for you to see a hat trick in a match. As the limited-overs format favors the batsman with all its conditions, it was a nightmare to the bowlers as the batsman had tremendous control, the larger bats and the smaller grounds, even the best of the bowlers were crushed for six.

And therefore, in this new age of cricket, it isn’t easy to be a bowler as it has evolved so far. But with all these scarce circumstances, if a bowler gets a hat trick, it’s considered a big achievement. Since the inaugural edition until now, 19 hat tricks have been picked up by the bowlers, and in that, Amit Mishra has three of them leading the list. Let’s see the bowlers who have found gold in all of their three successive deliveries.

List of All Hat-Trick Wickets Taken in IPL Till Now !!

Hat-trick Wickets in IPL
Hat-trick Wickets in IPL

2008 (L. Balaji, Amit Mishra, Makhaya Ntini)

The first IPL hat trick was clinched by the Indian bowler and CSK’s L. Balaji in the inaugural edition of the IPL versus KXIP. The particular season witnessed two more of them as one taken by Amit Mishra of Delhi Daredevils against Deccan Chargers, which also included a five-wicket haul, which was considered a tremendous job T20 cricket. The next one was CSK’s Makhaya Ntini against the Kolkata Knight Riders in the Eden Gardens, and he was the first foreign player to take the IPL hat trick.

2009 (Yuvraj Singh and Rohit Sharma)

This edition was held in South Africa as a result of the Indian general elections. And this edition saw Yuvraj Singh taking two of them and, unexpectedly, Rohit Sharma taking one, too. Yuvraj helped Punjab win the game by just one run. Then Rohit Sharma secured a hat-trick vs. Mumbai Indians to join the record books by helping his team win over the opponent as DC miserably struggled to reach the 145 target.

2010 (Praveen Kumar)

This edition saw just one hat-trick from RCB’s Praveen Kumar against the Rajasthan Royals as they were all out for 92, and in return, RCB chased it down effortlessly without losing a wicket.

2011 (Amit Mishra)

Again, Amit Mishra was the lone wolf when it came to hat tricks in this year’s edition as he took a hat trick this time playing for Deccan Chargers against Kings XI Punjab. His role helped DC win the match comfortably as KXIP was all-out 116 chasing a score of 199.

2012 (Ajit Chandila)

Everyone remembers him for his involvement in the IPL match-fixing, but a few remember his hat-trick against Pune Warriors thanks to his mysterious bowling skills, the Rahul Dravid side was searching for a place in the playoffs, and the win earned them a playoffs spot.

2013 (Amit Mishra, Sunil Narine)

This edition also had two hat tricks taken by two bowlers, and this time Amit Mishra played for the Sunrisers Hyderabad against Pune Warriors, clinching his third IPL hat trick. Sunil Narine also took his first Hat-trick against KXIP, which sadly ended up in a losing cause.

2014 (Pravin Tambe, Shane Watson)

Rajasthan royals discovered a maestro who was only 40 years old but had some serious talent, and he turned RR’s tables as he picked up a hat trick against KKR to thwart their chase and went on to win that edition’s purple cap. And Shane Watson also picked up the second hat-trick that season against the Sunrisers but ended up losing the match.

2016 ( Axar Patel)

In that particular season, he was the only bowler to take a hat trick to help his team KXIP beat the Gujarat Lions as he took 4 wickets in 5 balls.

2017 (Samuel Badree, Andrew Tye, Jaydev Unadkat)

The season’s first hat trick was picked up by RCB’s Samuel Badree against the Mumbai Indians but ended in a losing cause as they failed to defend a total of 142. It was followed by Andrew Tye’s hat-trick for Gujarat Lions against Rising Pune Supergiants that sealed the match as he took the five-wicket haul. Jaydev Unadkat took the third hat trick for Rising Pune Supergiants to give them a 12-run close victory over Sunrisers Hyderabad.

2019 (Sam Curran, Shreyas Gopal)

Sam Curran generated the first hat trick of the 2019 edition to help his team KXIP win over Delhi Capitals in a low-scoring thriller. The second hat-trick came from Shreyas Gopal of Rajasthan Royals against RCB in a rain-hit match to make him the 19th bowler in IPL history to grab a hat-trick.

Categorized as IPL

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *